Quite a bit to go.

I realised something this morning (it’s about 2:40am here). I have so much further to go in my journey as a programmer. What brought this epiphany you say? Spending the past hour trying to configure Ecto to allow me to post to my Blogger account. No matter what I do, I just can’t get it to function right. I’ve been all over the forums for Ecto and apparently there’s a bug somewhere in Atom API’s that Blogger uses. I have tried all of the ‘hacks’ that are listed on the forums, but no go for me. But clearly, the hacks work or else they wouldn’t have been posted. So what does that say? Must be an error on my end. Gasp! Sacre bleu! How can that be, an error on your end? Blasphemy! Yeah, yeah, I know a little over the top. But I’m the type of person that has no problem admitting when I’m wrong or that I made a mistake. That rarely happens, but when it does, I make amends, lol!

So what to do, what to do? Well, I’ve left a post on the Ecto forums asking a for a little assistance and now, all I can do is wait. But the larger issue for me now is the revelation that I have so much more to learn when it comes to programming. In my quest to enable posting to my blog thru Ecto, I started reading the API documentation from Blogger. Zip! Over my head. I mean REALLY over my head. I’m a fairly intelligent guy, but I must have missed class the day they were going over this stuff. I haven’t even started learning Obj-C/Cocoa yet, but I can kinda piece my way thru most things. I mean, it’s not like I would’ve been able to really change anything…the API’s are meant for implementation by Application developers. But it would’ve been nice to really be able to understand the information that I was looking thru. It’s cool though, I’m ready for the challenges ahead.

Now for all of you out there that are saying, “Why don’t you just use Movable Type or WordPress?”, I’ve actually been considering it. I’m leaning a little bit more towards WordPress. I’ve heard some good things about Movable Type/Typepad, but I already pay a butt load of money for the hosting of my business site…the Movable Type price tag seems kinda steep. There is an option where I could publish my Blogger pages to my web server, but I’m not sure if I could post to it thru Ecto. Man If I can’t get this working, I might have to switch to MarsEdit…..

Til Next time….. Viperteq

Leave a Reply

